Loving Sacrificially

Like me, do you write little notes beside bible verses that speak profoundly to you and are life altering or uniquely comforting? In many ways my well-worn bible is like a journal chronicling the twists and turns, ups and downs of my meandering spiritual journey.

Ephesians 5:2 is one of those profound little verses . . . “to live in love as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.” How is it possible to love like Christ loves us? Is it to love others by living a life of sacrifice?

Living a life of sacrifice requires us to love beyond what is humanly possible. I can love my husband, children and grandchild sacrificially. But everyone, even those I want to despise and neglect?

In my ministry working with abused, exploited and trafficked women, I have had to face this reality. Does my heart break for the johns, pimps, traffickers and abusers as well as the precious women I serve?

To live in love as Christ loves us requires that we love sacrificially . . . even the abuser, trafficker and pimp. Whom is Christ requiring you to love sacrificially? Transform our hearts O Lord!

Rev. Susan Omanson, Be Free Transformation Ministries, American Baptist Women’s Ministries

Leave a comment