now

Let’s do our best to know the Lord. His coming is as certain as the morning sun; he will refresh us like rain renewing the earth in the springtime. Hosea 6:3 CEV

Joel Osteen has a book called, Live Your Best Life Now. I love the title of that book because of that very last word, now. Now is all we have. Yesterday is gone and tomorrow is not promised to any of us, in fact, not even the next hour is a guarantee. I want to live my best life, and I want to live it right now. 

I realize that without knowing the Lord I can’t live my best life at anytime. Knowing the Lord means I study His word daily. It means I pray and listen to God speak to me. It means I give my money and time to help others. I may not know the reasons that so many things go against my plans, but God does. Sometimes I feel like I’ve been broken into tiny little pieces. The best of super glues can’t even put me back together again. However, as God helps me to pick up one piece of my life at a time, He shows up and little by little the pieces are all together again. Sure there are cracks, but that’s because I was broken. Each time I am broken, I lose a bit of myself. I “die”. Through all my brokenness the Spirit of Christ can live in me. Through the cracks His Spirit can change me from the inside out. I trust Him and I praise Him through all of life’s ups and downs, even when I am completely crumbling into a million little pieces. Being broken helps us to renew our commitment to Christ. It keeps us hoping for God to show up. And when He does, it keeps us refreshed like rain on a renewing earth. 

No matter what happens, I want to live my best life and live it now! I know God will never leave me or forsake me even in my loneliest moments, my biggest trials, and my worst fears. I know He will show up and when He does, I’ll be as refreshed like rain renewing the earth. I will be refreshed to live my best life now. 

Rhonda Robbins-Reeves is the editor for both the Preschool and Children’s Resource Teams at Woman’s Missionary Union.

Leave a comment